A museum which is not one of the best known on tours of Ireland but well worth a visit.
The museum is owned and operated by Limerick City Council.
It was fist opened to the public in 1916 as part of the city library in Perry Square.
In 1979 it transferred to the renovated Georgian period Johns Square in Irishtown , where it occupied the ground floor and basement of numbers one and two on the north side.
The collections of the museum were increasing rapidly , and the need for additional display and storage facilities led to its removal to the newly built granary – style building at Castle Lane in 1999.
A hidden gem worth a visit on any Ireland tours.