The city is the sum of three parts.
It began on an island in the Shannon and expanded onto each bank forming three distinct districts.
The oldest is Englishtown that stands on the island.
This was followed by Irishtown, which began life as a second walled town.
The third is Newtown Pery, named after the developer Edward Sexton Pery, and is mainly made up of Georgian terraces.
The story of the city begins in the 10th century, when Viking marauders used the island as a base.
The Vikings were driven out by King Brian Boru early in the next century.
But Limerick continued to have a violent existence and was repeatedly burnt to the ground.
The arrival of the Anglo-Normans at the end of the 12th century brought stability.
They replaced the river ford with a bridge and built King Johns Castle to protect the bridge.
The city saw more action during the 17th century when it sided with the Jacobites against William the Third.
However, after the city surrendered the Catholics were persecuted and there was serious civil unrest.
The city gates were locked every night.
Following the removal of fortifications in 1760 the city rapidly expanded.
At Ireland and Scotland Luxury Tours we can build a visit to Limerick into any of our tours of Ireland.