Sligo Abbey, County Sligo
Usually on our tours of Ireland we stop at Sligo on the way North.
The original church was founded by Maurice Fitzgerald, Earl of Kildare, for the Dominicans in 1252.
It was accidentally destroyed by fire in 1414.
Then it was rebuilt in 1416.
Unfortunately, it was destroyed again in 1641.
The ruins are in a good state of preservation and consist mainly of central tower, nave, and choir.
There are also remains of the 13th century church.
Under the 15th century east window is a carved altar of nine panels dated 1506.
There are three beautiful arches on the south side of the nave.
But the finest part of the ruins are the Cloisters.
At Ireland and Scotland Luxury Tours we enjoy showing our clients hidden gems on trips around Ireland.
All of our tours are private and bespoke.