Ulster…..or Northern Ireland ???

Ulster…..or Northern Ireland ???

This is the Northern province, which is divided between the Republic of Ireland and Northern Ireland.

On a any tours of Ireland you will come across the province of Ulster.

Six of Ulster’s nine counties Antrim , Armagh , Down , Derry, Fermanagh , and Tyrone – have made up Northern Ireland since the Government of Ireland Act (1920).

The other three counties Cavan , Donegal , and Monaghan are part of the Republic of Ireland.

The name derives from the Uluti, a tribe in pre-Christian Ireland.

The term Ulster is often used interchangeably with Northern Ireland , even though the province includes three counties of the Republic of Ireland.

In the 15th and 16th centuries , Ulster was a stronghold of Irish resistance (mostly by the O’Neill and O’Donnell clans) to the spread of English power.

Belfast, the capital of Northern Ireland , is located in the Southern part of County Antrim. It is very popular with cruise ships and many dock in the city to visit. There are a number of Belfast tours available.

 The province has the island’s largest lake – Lough Neagh – and the unique rock formation known as the Giant’s Causeway. The causeway is a must see attraction on any tours of Ireland !!!!