County Tyrone

County Tyrone

This is an inland county in the province of Ulster.

It is one of the six counties of Northern Ireland.

The economy is mainly agricultural along with some textile production.

Tyrone comes from the Irish “Tir Eoghain” … the land of Eoin.  Eoin was a son of “Niall of the Nine Hostages” , the 5th Century ancestor of the O’Neill dynasty.

A reconstruction of Tyrones past can be seen in the Ulster-American folk park outside Omagh.

Important towns are Omagh , Dungannon , Cookstown , and Strabane.

Dergalt was the birth place of American President “Woodrow Wilson”.

Tyrones lanscape varies from the 2000 foot high Sperrin Mountains (where gold may have been panned 4000 years ago)… the lowlands around Lough Neagh (Irelands largest lake)

On the shores of Lough Neagh stands the “Old Cross of Ardboe” (9th or 10th Century)…one of Irelands most venerable monuments.

This County is somewhat of a hidden gem and the landscape and sights are well worth seeing on any tours of Ireland.

At Ireland Luxury Tours we certainly try to incorporate these highlights into our tours of Ireland.